Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

My Star Trek Next Generation Phaser Red Mod

After doing the Clasic Phaser Green Mod inspired & instructed by Jayrob I've decided to laser modify a few of the other Star Trek universe beam weapons (mainly Federation).

My first of these additional phaser mods is the 650nm 220mW laser modified 1992 Playmates Next Generation Phaser with 10 segment bar graph led pseudo power display, keyswitch protected & spray rubber grips (and some red GITD on the fire button & inside the emitter cone).

Not perfect but I'm new to doing this so it is a learning process for me, a fun one at that! I purposely painted the body a darker metal color than what the proper color should be because I thought the darker color looked better, the other mods that I'll do will be the correct for the show (like my classic phaser green mod).

This is how it started out as a toy (I got it for 18.00 with shipping on ebay):

Plastic painted display that is actually the opening for the sound effect speaker & grips that are just black paint, had to change that (amongst other things)!

Here it is opened up:

Massive speaker, belt clip got to go! You can see (sorry, wished this was a better pic, I should have checked before I moved on) that it is pretty cramped in there and my best place I could see to put the keyswitch was in the back which meant I needed to remake the battery compartment.

Here is a better pic of the top half with the huge speaker out of the way:

The laser module I used for this was a strange setup I found on ebay High Power 250mW Focusable Laser Module Battery Case | eBay that is only 13.99 with shipping from China (I bought 3):