Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Laser Pointer Store

My custom LaserBee firmware!

Meatball

New member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
2,989
Likes
172
Points
0
I had always understood that an algorithm is a step by step
procedure for making a complete mathematical calculation
string. I usually call it a Formula...

Algorithm - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


Jerry

You can contact us at any time through our Website: J.BAUER Electronics
I think he means that since the process is primarily arithmetic, its almost overkill to call it an algorithm since algorithms can involve any number of processes which may not exclusively include maths.

If its mostly just math, then I suppose you could call it a function, but then again "functions" are also a sort of "mini-algorithm" in programmer's terms. So perhaps that's what it ought to be called.

An algorithm can include many functions, but can a single function be considered use of an entire algorithm?

Just stretching out the idea as long as I can... for what its worth.
 

Seoul_lasers

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,490
Likes
340
Points
83
Well at any rate good job.
The response time is really great. I'd love to give it a try!
Need $$$ first.
 

jimdt7

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
1,899
Likes
69
Points
48
Today this came up in my mind....
Is there any way i can connect my 2.5W USB Laserbee
to a small screen in order to use it without the need of a PC....? :thinking:

Jim
 
Last edited:

Trevor

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
4,513
Likes
548
Points
113
Well at any rate good job.
The response time is really great. I'd love to give it a try!
Need $$$ first.
I plan on selling the upgrade for no more than $15. :p

I do, however, still need to make a 3.2W version.

Today this came up in my mind....
Is there any way i can connect my 2.5W USB Laserbee
to a small screen in order to use it without the need of a PC....? :thinking:

Jim
Yes and no. If you felt like adding an Arduino to the LPM, it would be trivial to add a screen.

But without adding an additional circuit or significantly altering the circuit that the PIC resides in, no.

Trevor
 

jimdt7

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
1,899
Likes
69
Points
48
I mean that all Laserbees use the same circuit board (I guess)
and since the Alpha Meter uses the same circuit board with my 2.5W USB
there must be an easy way to do it...:thinking:

Jim
 
Last edited:

Trevor

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
4,513
Likes
548
Points
113
I mean that all Laserbees use the same circuit board (I guess)
and since the Alpha Meter uses the same circuit board with my 2.5W USB
there must be an easy way to do it...:thinking:

Jim
The 1W, 2.1W, and 3.2W are the same, with the exception of a contrast pot on the 3.2W. The only changes are to the firmware and to the sampling circuit.

The USB LaserBee, on the other hand, uses a completely different board... so the socket to put an LCD is not there. Thus, you'd either need to significantly alter the current circuit (and probably use a new board) or add another board to the enclosure.

Trevor
 

jimdt7

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
1,899
Likes
69
Points
48
I guess you know a lot more than i do :p
I said so because the boards look identical, at least from the pictures...:beer:

Jim
 

Trevor

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
4,513
Likes
548
Points
113
Well, just to clarify, this is basically the board that's in your 2.5W LaserBee (from the LaserBee thread in the Measurements section):



It's his little datalogger board. Jerry repurposed them after the initial failed release.

It has no output for an LCD. If you look at where the traces on the board go, the pins you see at the top of the board mirror the serial lines, and the group of six pins in the lower left are effectively the "buttons" (according to the silkscreen). The other LaserBee boards have a socket for the LCD to go - and on this board it's unfortunately absent.

...but it's definitely not impossible to add a screen. :)

Trevor
 
Last edited:

jimdt7

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
1,899
Likes
69
Points
48
Actually that's not the board i have inside my laserbee...
I have the red one...:beer:

Jim
 

Trevor

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
4,513
Likes
548
Points
113
Actually that's not the board i have inside my laserbee...
I have the red one...:beer:

Jim
Yep - the 2.5W LaserBee I've got here also has the red version. It's the same situation though. No LCD, sadly. ><

Trevor
 




Top