Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Multiple electrodes to minimize voltage requirement

twelti

I'm interested in learning more about CO2 lasers. I would love to eventually build one. It's more of a thought process right now, I'm still learning about lasers in general. I'd be interested in a 80 + watt device (maybe start with a smaller one to learn on). I'd love to use a design that minimized voltage and length requirements. So I understand that it is possible to use more than one anode and one cathode, thereby minimizing required total voltage. I'm guessing there is a trade-off then? Is there some reason one could not have, say, a series of alternating electrodes, spaced so they don't arc, and then have a very much smaller required voltage?

Also, is it possible to fold the tube up into several shorter lengths, perhaps combined with the above multi-electrode approach? I did see reference to this idea in a book I have been reading. I'm guessing though, that the additional complications in construction, additional mirrors, and alignment would make it difficult. It is interesting to think about though...

Anthony P

I have built several homemade CO2 lasers over the years. Among homebuilt lasers they are probably the easiest to get working. They are very forgiving of vacuum leaks and misalignment. There is a ton of information on SAM'S LASER FAQ. As you said, start with a simple design then expand. Some tips right off: Plan ahead so that parts can be re-used in future builds. Good vacuum system is worth investment, but ordinary pumps used for HVAC work great, valves and fittings are more important. Use a HR/OC combo, don,t waste time with polishing salt crystals.