Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Lenses for 445nm or 473nm

K

Krane

hey all, Im a noob, what kind of lens would you use to focus the beam, this is one of those "i don't have it yet but i need to know" questions, so thing number one, what kind of lens you use? is it the convex lens that is plain on the other side?? that's the only one that makes sense to use, and another question, if focusing u can create a 1mm wide beam for example 4 feet away, how would you focus it to "infinity" and is it possible, what i mean by infinity is like when u use binoculars, when u focus them on a far object you can look at objects that are even further but they will not need focusing anymore... so what is the max possible viewing distance i could get from a 1W 445nm, and handheld 473nm of the max power i could build/buy for under $250 that will be discussed separately.

Last edited:

for 445's you want 3 element glass lenses or 405-G1 or 405-G2 glass lenses. Focusing to infinity has the dot as small as you can for as long as you can-- every laser is different. I'll tell you that you won't be getting any 1mm beam from a 473 or especially a 445. Distance isn't really something you want a 445 or a 473 for; best bet is a greenie (532nm) for that.

For 473nm; going DIY is extremely difficult. Mine cost me about $550, and less power would only be about $100 less in the big picture. Not sure if eytyxhs is still selling his 473nm pointer; check the B/S/T section every now and then. Otherwise expect the $300 - $350 range for a 473nm pointer.

K

Krane