Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Lazerer 405nm kit

I'm new to building lasers and am wondering if this parts list would make a good laser.
Also if there is a better kit around, let me know.
Diode- Pioneer BDR-206 12x Laser Sled with 500mW 405nm Laser Diode
Driver- Power Buck 2A Switching Driver for 445nm / 405nm Laser Diode
(Preset to 500mA)
Host- DIY Empty CLASSIC Host for Laser Pointer ( Complete Set )
Battery- **Upgrade Pack** 18650 / 16340 li-ion Battery + Charger**

Will that host dissipate the heat well?
Also I have some CPU thermal paste. Will that work?

I'm new to building lasers and am wondering if this parts list would make a good laser.
Also if there is a better kit around, let me know.
Diode- Pioneer BDR-206 12x Laser Sled with 500mW 405nm Laser Diode
Driver- Power Buck 2A Switching Driver for 445nm / 405nm Laser Diode
(Preset to 500mA)
Host- DIY Empty CLASSIC Host for Laser Pointer ( Complete Set )
Battery- **Upgrade Pack** 18650 / 16340 li-ion Battery + Charger**

Will that host dissipate the heat well?
Also I have some CPU thermal paste. Will that work?

The host is nice, but that driver has some nasty start up spikes. I would suggest a different driver... and welcome to the forum.

I read some more on the forum. I want the beam visible for a class presentation. Should I go with a 532nm kit instead? I'm having a hard time finding one on the forum.

Class presentation with kids around??? you should just get a normal presentation unit. Even a 5mW 532nm unit is going to look really bright in that surrounding.

If your looking for a beam so the kiddies can see it if it were me I would prolly go with a 30mW unit and use some fog juice of some sort with others around in a school setting all safety issues should be addressed first... ALL of the safety aspects.