Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Is possible camcorder lens to collimate 808nm ?

Hello friends,
I would like to know if the idea of using lenses with motorized zoom and focus of old camcorder can be used to Collimate IR laser 7W 808nm, I have an optical group of an old Sony camera.
can anyone tell me if this idea is possible?
thanks

It depends on:
1. The divergence of both axes of the diode array
2. The dioptric power of the lens group
3. Whether or not you are using beam correction optics

dear friend,
I'm a beginner, I am tray to use a 7W C mount 808nm laser to make a engraver machine.
the laser projection are a line not a dot, do you know how to collimate it? as possible to do it using a spherical lens ?
I'm find in ebay Lot of 50 Cylindrical Double-Convex Lens 50 x 40mm, it is ok to collimate?
thanks
Vitor

Last edited:
It needs a lens called fast axis correction (fac) to turn a line into more of a dot. Some 808nm lasers have fac lens built in. The divergence numbers would also show if it has a fac. High power IR diodes will be multi-mode as well (odd shaped dot/ multi-dot).
An engraver isn't really a beginner project I'm afraid.

Last edited:
Dear freind, I`m beginneg on laser projects,
the idea of doing projects with laser always fascinated me, I had many doubts about it I could clarify with people like you (thank you)
I have some experience of working with micro controllers and the idea of laser engraver is recent, I have some trouble with optics, if you can show me a site that shows with good English and good illustrative pictures, would be very grateful.
I recently bought on ebay, a 2D laser galvo, I am waiting to receive by mail. my problem is to focus the laser 7W 808nm more efficiently.
thanks.

HIMNL9