Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

IR laser form DVD drive

Mato92

Hi,
I am new to this forum and new to lasers as well. I have made 200mW red laser from DVD drive and I have used driver schematics from this forum. Now I need your help with something I didn't found on this forum.
I have an IR diode, but I don't know if there is the same pinout as on the red one and if I can use the same driver.
It has some code written on it's can. It says "SI625H19C". I couldn't find anything about it. DVD drive model was LG GSA-4167B.
So is there the same pinout as on a red laser diode? And can I use the same driver circuit?
Thank you for answers. Sorry for my English, I'm just learning. :)

The IR diode from DVD burners aren't really good for anything pointer related as they are probably very low power :(

.3lite

It was also a 48x CD-Burner so that ir laser diode is about 100mW+.

Mato92

I have read that if I point it at my hand, it can sting my skin (in some video comment on YouTube). Is that true?

Last edited:

.3lite

if you are black, I mean black skin, otherwise no.

Last edited:
This post would have been better suited to the "Infrared/Other Colors" board, rather than the red lasers board.

.3lite: That's a very offensive word.

.3lite

I didn't mean it on purpose, I'm not rasist, I've just changed it.

Last edited:

Mato92

I'm caucasian. I know that most of lasers don't burn white colored objects or a skin. I don't know why I thought that IR will be something special... Maybe I just don't have to believe everything I read. :yh:

The IR diodes in DVD burners are not very fun to look at, but they are quite powerful and will easily burn. Typically they produce ~200mW@~250mA of input current.

Typically they produce ~200mW@~250mA of input current