Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Indirect green and blue laser reflection damage assesment

Hi.
I researched several topics on this forum and see there are alot of similar questions. I am new to the laser world and don't know much....i just enjoy researching sfx with lasers. Anyway....i was at a bbq where a mans son had 2 lasers: 1 green <5mw and a blue purple <10mw........he was shining them on white and yellow surfaces which made them very very very bright i didn't think much of this at the time, he also started shining all over the damn place and a few times it reflected off glass and mirrors into the corner of my eye.......
I did not however take direct (looking into the source) exposure. I have a headache today ( sensitivity to light) idk if this is related, if its just a little headache from the intense light and thats it or its something i should check asap.

From what i described how bad did i 'get it'.....i assume looking at the dot of the pointer (not the emission source) cant be too bad since they are used for presentations ect.

Thanks guys :)

WizardG

LPF Site Supporter
A reflection off of glass, or especially a mirror, is essentially the same as looking right into the barrel. If the power of the kids toys was really 5 and 10 mW you're likely OK. If those were feebay lasers though their true power could easily be an order of magnitude higher. I'm neither a doctor nor do I play one on teevee but if there are no artifacts in your vision you're probably OK but I'd have a word with the kids dad if'n I was you.

Last edited:
Yup they were apparently off ebay. The warning stickers on the end though state <10 and < 5...... Again they were brief glints BUT it did go on all night.