Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Homemade Burn Laser for Camping

Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new with this - but it has recently really sparked my interest.

I would really like to make a laser good enough for camping (ideally to lite campfires with and stuff). I would like it to work from a fair distance and be durable and portable as well.

I saw some videos on how to make them with DVD burners and a Mag light but they weren't very detailed.

Can someone help point me to a really detailed writeup and possibly a parts list of what I would need to complete this project?

Recommendations of nm and mw for this project as well would help too!

Thanks! :bowdown:

daguin

They are all over the Tutorials board and the Laser Pro Shop board

You have many decisions yet to make my young padawan

Peace,
dave

Razako

I'd recommend matches or a lighter. Cheaper and safer alternative if your goal is to start fires. You'd need a multiwatt laser to actually start a campfire and it won't be easy or cheap.

rhd

I've had the exact same thought (I'm an avid camper too), and it's really not something that can be done practically.

There's a big different between seeing a 445 light a match on fire at close range, or watching it burn tape, and expecting a laser to actually start a fire on it's own.