Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hey All

BDi

Hi

I am a noob who has been doing some research and reading of the forums prior to joining.

In doing so, I started designing my very first concept.

From my limited understanding, I have hand sketched up my greenhorn design and in brief my concept uses multiple lasers combined using cubes.

I understand the beam joining & splitting limitations of cubes and using knife edging, but from my research my concept of combined seems plausible, but to know for sure there's a whole raft of expert opinions, views and advice I need.

So, in a nutshell, I'd like to chat with a veteran who can tell me if I am crazy or not prior to making myself look like a total loon in the forums...

Are there any volunteers?

Cheers

BDi

p.s. Thanks for all the info everyone has contributed so far.

BobMc

Welcome to the forum. It might be better to go ahead and ask your questions that way those people that can help will know what is is you need to know. (Trying to be helpful.
) Once again welcome and be safe and enjoy and safety glasses . :)

BDi

Well, here goes...

Using my chicken scrawl attachment as a reference, I was wanting to know if this was a viable squence for combining laser beams:

1. Ref A - Combine 2 lasers of the same colour using a polarizing cube into Beam A.

2. Ref B - Combine 2 lasers of the same colour using a polarizing cube into Beam B.

Combine beam A and B into a single beam using a dichroic filter to become Beam AB.

3. Ref C - Combine 2 lasers of the same colour using a polarizing cube into Beam C.

Combine beam AB and C into a single beam using a dichroic filter to become Beam ABC.

4. Ref D - Combine 2 lasers of the same colour using a polarizing cube into Beam D.