Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help with different types of fixed focus lenses?????

Hey, new here, FIRST POST LOL...

bought one of those laser pens from ebay, i bought one that was $8.98, the one that you see all over the pages ---> 405nm 5mW Blue Laser pointer.

Its a fixed focus and its visible from 1000meters... does that mean when i click it on the beam will stay that diameter and not expand or whatever and become no longer visible until after 1000meters or what? IDK how that all works. I know its some cheap 5mW laser and i know theres ones 100 times better but im a rookie i love lasers =] IM FIRIN' MUH LAZOORRR LOL (help me out)... oh is 405nm like... blue-violet? right?

Last edited:

Hi and welcome to the forum! feel free to introduce yourself in the welcome section.

The beam will diverge, depending on the laser this can be very fast or diffraction limited, the best possible. After 1000m the dot is probably about 1 meter in size for a normal pointer. 405nm is violet and not very visible, but because of fluorescence in for example wite paper the dot may appear more blue.

5mW pointers are known to be overspec, so please use some laser safety eyewear!

Awesome, just need a bit more detailed info in where you said...

"The beam will diverge, depending on the laser this can be very fast or diffraction limited, the best possible."

thats what i didnt really get. So 405nm isnt really visible? =[ Why? Could animals see it, like pigeons or something? (NOT saying that im about to blind a pigeon NOOO i love animals and im a safety freak, no pointing in peeps' eyes lolz..) is 405nm still cool though? Like can it be seen still as blue 50% of the time? Please help im a starter and i love lasers =]

udanis

1.So 405nm isnt really visible?
2.is 405nm still cool though?