Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Heat sink cooling?

Hello, This is my first post but that doesn't mean im a stranger to lasers.:yh:
I have been reading many posts on the forum and most people that build their own gas lasers use water cooling. My family owns 3 co2 lasers and all use a heat sink to cool the co2 tube(2 30watt lasers and 1 15watt laser). I was wondering whats the max wattage that would be safe to use a heat sink on? (I am considering building a tube)
Also, I am not very good at glass working so I was wondering would a heat sink with water cooling coils running through it work effectively?

Thanks in advance,
Richard

Benm

If your laser has water cooling, the question boils down to 'what is sufficient to cool the water'.

If you are looking at serious power levels, and automotive cooling system comes to mind. Those are designed to cool several tens of kilowatts, and could be good candidates to cool a CO2 laser of any power level.

If you are looking at tens of watts to dissipate, any car radiator would suffice even without the fan running.

CO2 lasers are especially sensitive to temperature. A few degrees can mean the difference between 20W and 200mW. The cooler you can keep it (without forming condensation, of course), the better.

anselm

So an automotive cooling system would only ever keep it at room temperature...
Would that be cool enough?

Sounds like total BS. Do you have s source, sir?