Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

FlexMod not going over 310mA help

hi there
it is my first time working with laser , laser drivers etc...
i have a flexMod , so i am trying to set it up for my diode (1000mW 445nm) , so DTR wrote to feed 1A to my diode , but when i turn my gain pot to get 1A , it wont go over 310mA (the screw will but my reading stop growing)
i have shourtcut the "int" with the "+V"
and also the first 2 solder points on the side of the big resistor (from the diode pt of view)
i also screw a huge heatsink on the regulator (12x8cm)
my power supply is a 12v 5A

i of course didn t solder the diode
and i can make a reading only when my amp-meter is set to 10A i get the red diode when i try my amp-meter on mA

any advice or test i can do ?

DTR

The red light on the driver is off when you are testing it right?

I do have a guide for setting up the P3 that is designed around bypassing most of the safety features and the modulation but should give you an idea.

http://laserpointerforums.com/f51/how-set-up-flexmod-p3-handheld-laser-56572.html#post798901

Also I currently like just using a LM3805 5V regulator to give a 5V signal to the Mod input instead of a1.5 K Ohm 1/2 Watt resistor. The Mod only pulls a few mA and will not make the regulator heat up so it is a great choice if you want full power all the time and exactly 5V going to the mod input.

Last edited:
yes i have seen the guide , but i am giving 5v to the "MOD" pin from my microcontroler because the idea is to control the laser from the microcontroler (arduino)

and yes the red led is off the all time i am making the test

i dont think it is the case but i ll have to verify if it is not me misreading the amp-meter , like 0.310 would be 3A100mA because i am on the 10A mode
but that would be strange .