Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First RGY Spirograph

Hi, I am new to lasers and I would like to build my first RGY spirograph. Over the past week I read a lot of articles about lasers and I think that I am ready. :cool:

This picture shows how I would like it to look:

I will start with the lasers.

The lasers that I chose are 5mW green module DealExtreme: $15.95 Geniune New Wish 5mW Green Laser Module (5V) and 20mW red module DealExtreme: $7.89 20mW 650nm Red Laser Module (3~4.5V 12mm) I know that the green one has a driver already, so that means that I can you just plug it on a 5V source, but the red module seems to be without a driver. That means that I need to buy one separately right? I looked at the lava driver but I don’t think that I need a driver for over $20 when I have a module for $7.89. Is there any other cheaper driver that I can use? Also the description of the red laser says that it needs 3~4.5V. How do I get how many mA does it need?

The second things are the mirrors and filters.