Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Laser Pointer Store

Enchanted Beams Thread

paul1598419

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
13,222
Likes
1,734
Points
113
I recall AD saying that he did use a remote tailswitch.

Quote:
"That's why I'm using remote tailswitch setup that I mentioned..
If you will use normal tail switch ON/OFF it can cause beam shaking on the picture.
Using remote tail switch laser stays complete still and makes your photo shooting much more easier when you can control you laser behind the camera."
Thanks for the confirmation, Jeff. I didn't think it was a ridiculous idea. Seemed like the best way to manage a shot especially if the exposure time wasn't very long. :p
 

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
I recall AD saying that he did use a remote tailswitch.

Quote:
"That's why I'm using remote tailswitch setup that I mentioned..
If you will use normal tail switch ON/OFF it can cause beam shaking on the picture.
Using remote tail switch laser stays complete still and makes your photo shooting much more easier when you can control you laser behind the camera."
Thanks Bowtie, a remote tail switch, interesting. I wonder if he made it himself or whether he bought it. Seems like it would work quite well.
 
Last edited:

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,168
Likes
1,054
Points
113
Thanks Bowtie, a remote tail switch, interesting. I wonder if he made it himself or whether he bought it. Seems like it would work quite well.
It's a DIY remote switch because I couldn't find any remote switches for 26650's bodies.
It is basicly 3,5mm jack and it fits to regular tailcap and it can be changed back to regular switch if needed.
I have two different plugs for it, one is remote and the other is "safety plug" in case you want to use laser from the side switch.

I like to have all my lasers in same size hosts, because I can lend parts from one to another one.
You can call me boring but it's make my life a lot easier.. :D

-If 20mm PCB will fit to your tailcap, I can send you PM of part list and PCB for DIY remote switch, but you'll have to solder it together by yourself.



 

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
It's a DIY remote switch because I couldn't find any remote switches for 26650's bodies.
It is basicly 3,5mm jack and it fits to regular tailcap and it can be changed back to regular switch if needed.
I have two different plugs for it, one is remote and the other is "safety plug" in case you want to use laser from the side switch.

I like to have all my lasers in same size hosts, because I can lend parts from one to another one.
You can call me boring but it's make my life a lot easier.. :D

-If 20mm PCB will fit to your tailcap, I can send you PM of part list and PCB for DIY remote switch, but you'll have to solder it together by yourself.




That's kinda neat Arctic. Like the idea. Have used 3.5 mm jacks on occasions, so I know how they function.

Like your matching lasers, there not boring. I favor matching sets myself. I seem to find a host that I like and get a couple or more wavelengths in that host than move to another host that strikes my fancy.

I'll give the remote set up some thought and see what my needs might be.

Thanks for posting the pics of your remote switch ( and lasers ) nice!
 
Last edited:

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
Couple more, but their still to blurry, gotta figure out why?















I'm trying to learn. :thinking:
 

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,168
Likes
1,054
Points
113
Couple more, but their still to blurry, gotta figure out why?

I'm trying to learn. :thinking:
Those are still nice beamshots Bob! :)

What f-number you was using? A bigger f-number (smaller aperature) could help you to get sharper pics, but you will need longer exposure time. Using 2-sec self timer could help too.
Also recommend to read a bit of hyperfocal distance
 

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
Those are still nice beamshots Bob! :)

What f-number you was using? A bigger f-number (smaller aperature) could help you to get sharper pics, but you will need longer exposure time. Using 2-sec self timer could help too.
Also recommend to read a bit of hyperfocal distance
Thanks Arctic, F stop is 16, ISO is 1600, exposure time 10 seconds. I am using a 2 second delay. Think I'll try a lower f stop next time.

I'll check out your link, thanks for it and the encrougement. :)
 

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,168
Likes
1,054
Points
113
Thanks Arctic, F stop is 16, ISO is 1600, exposure time 10 seconds. I am using a 2 second delay. Think I'll try a lower f stop next time.

I'll check out your link, thanks for it and the encrougement. :)
That will probably cause more blurness..
If you are using Manual Focus mode, try to use Zooming option on the LCD live view (Magnifying Glass icon button) and then use Manual Focus. That should make focusing easier.

-My camera has an Focus Peaking mode >>, but I prefer to use that "zoom technique" for better focusing results.
 
Last edited:

BowtieGuy

Well-known member
LPF Site Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2012
Messages
5,306
Likes
1,819
Points
113
Bob, those beam shots are looking better and better, keep up the good work! :kewlpics:
 

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
That will probably cause more blurness..
If you are using Manual Focus mode, try to use Zooming option on the LCD live view (Magnifying Glass icon button) and then use Manual Focus. That should make focusing easier.

-My camera has an Focus Peaking mode >>, but I prefer to use that "zoom technique" for better focusing results.
When I use auto focus it seems never to focus,so I have to use manual focus. I'm using a 18-55mm lens, I have a 75-300mm lens. Do you think I'd get better results with it?

Unfortunately I don't have a focus peaking mode. :(


Bob, those beam shots are looking better and better, keep up the good work! :kewlpics:
Thanks Bowtie! It's a work it progress . But I do have to admit it is fun. :)
 
Last edited:

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,168
Likes
1,054
Points
113
When I use auto focus it seems never to focus,so I have to use manual focus. I'm using a 18-55mm lens, I have a 75-300mm lens. Do you think I'd get better results with it?

Unfortunately I don't have a focus peaking mode. :(
Here is hyperfocal length calculator which is quite handy.

I picked same model than your camera + 18mm lens with f/16 aperature:
rersult : 3.75 feet

So, basicly if closest object in your image is 3.75 feet distance and you focus on that object, everything beyond that should be focused as sharp.
But if your objective is zoomed to max = focal lenght is 55mm and Hyperfocal distance is 34.64 feet

Try to keep objective zoom level Zero(18mm), that will make your focusing / shooting easier ;)
 
Last edited:

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
Here is hyperfocal length calculator which is quite handy.

I picked same model than your camera + 18mm lens with f/16 aperature:
rersult : 3.75 feet

So, basicly if closest object in your image is 3.75 feet distance and you focus on that object, everything beyond that should be focused as sharp.
But if your objective is zoomed to max = focal lenght is 55mm and Hyperfocal distance is 34.64 feet

Try to keep objective zoom level Zero(18mm), that will make your focusing / shooting easier ;)
Hot ticket Alaskan! I appericate the schooling, shall do. Next time I get a chance I'll give it a try. I've always had my camera focused all the way in. Will post my results:thanks:
 

ArcticDude

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 22, 2016
Messages
2,168
Likes
1,054
Points
113
Hot ticket Alaskan! I appericate the schooling, shall do. Next time I get a chance I'll give it a try. I've always had my camera focused all the way in. Will post my results:thanks:
Alaskan?! :D
Ok, you are allowed to use "old card" again Bob :p

Looking forward for your results
 
Last edited:

BobMc

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
3,798
Likes
881
Points
113
Alaskan?! :D
Ok, you are allowed to use "old card" again Bob :p

Looking forward for your results
Man alive. I'm fired!!!

I am sooo. sorry ArcticDude, you'd think I'd know better. This is the second time I called you by that other Gentlemans name. Don't know what to say but I'm starting to think there's more to this "old age card" ??? Thanks for letting me play it--- again! :confused:
 
Last edited:




Top