Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

eBay 405nm "5mW" Pen - What should I expect?

Hi!

I'm a bit new to the laser hobby. I've ordered a 1.2W from Blord, which should be on its way. Previously, however, I took a chance and ordered a cheap laser pointer off eBay after hearing the overspec rumors.

So, the laser came in the mail today. I put some cheap batteries in it and pointed it at my hand...

Well, I didn't feel any heat at first. I kept it there for a few seconds, and felt what I thought was a bit of heat, but it could just be a placebo effect...

So I pointed it at my leather wallet for a while. No smoke. I used a black sharpie to make a dot on a McDonald's cup. No smoke. I couldn't find any black balloons.

The dot is bright. The divergence is pretty bad, but it could just be that the dot is so bright my eyes see a sort of aurora around it. My eyes are a bit sore from the bright dot. Again, could just be a placebo effect. I've tried not to look at the dot for too long, just in case. (My laser goggles are coming with Blord's laser... Should be here soon.)

I can only see a very faint beam in the dark.

So is what I have here a 5mW pointer or a possibly higher power laser? What are some burning tests I can conduct with it?

Thanks,
Scott

Blord

That "5mW" is probably closer to 100mW. The penlasers aren't focusable. You need a magnifier glass to converge the dot into a tiny point. That can pop a balloon and smoke black plastic.

Do this before the 445nm laser arrived. After you are spoiled with the 445nm C6 you won't go back to the 405nm penlaser. :)

Last edited:
That "5mW" is probably closer to 100mW. The penlasers aren't focusable. You need a magnifier glass to converge the dot into a tiny point. That can pop a balloon and smoke black plastic.