Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Driver Selection

Hi All,

I am using a laser for flourescent microscopy and have previously used only LEDs so I'm new to a lot of the technology here. I honestly don't really need all of the power that the current 455nm diodes offer, I'll probably be staying in the 50 to 200 mW range. That being said, I'm still probably sticking with a 1 W diode because having the option for more power (500 mW absolute max I could imagine) would be nice.

Anyway, I would like to use the 18650 as my battery (3.7 V li-ion, 3000 mAh). I've purchased aixiz housing blanks, copper diode mount, glass lens and thermal paste in addition to my diode. I also bought a diode press tool (eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices)

I did order a driver (micro flex v5) from dr lava's website but from what I understand that will not be here for a LONG time and I'd prefer not to wait.

My question is, do people have any driver recommendations? Again, my current requirements are going to be low and likely variable.

I'm likely to have my driver and battery housed at the base of the portable microscope, while the laser diode will be about 6 inches away. Any recommendations on wire (i saw some on thorlabs with built in strain relief and ESD protection, but it seems overpriced)

Thanks!
Ben

Blord

First welcome to the LPF forum !

If you want fluorescent microscopy I would recommend 405nm diode instead of 445nm diode. The 405nm will have more effect visually.
As for the driver you will need a boost driver if you are using only one 3.7 battery. The Flexdriver will do the job but the availability and after service is almost non existence.