Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Driver Circuit assistance request

Hello Guys,
I don't really know if I should start a new topic but its my first time posting so..forgive my ignorance :p
Here is my situation. [Stumbled uppon a "how to make a burning laser" video] + [remembered my old broken LG DVD recorder] = Laser Fever
I got the LD from the DVD, found the prints of the driver from a design by ROG8811 and other similar ones from the forums.

Attached is my driver circuit setup. I know its a bit sloppy, but i just wanted to test it first.
Have i done something wrong?...apparently I did since I burnt my diode... :'(
I used a 9 volt battery to power the driver. But as soon i connected everything and pushed the button, the diode flashed brightly for a moment and then it was reduced to a very weak beam spot. Uppon focusing the beam, all i got was a shape similar to this :     _._
Can anyone see if I have connected something wrong? The potensiometer maybe..or could it be the 9 volt battery, although i was under the impression that the regulator chip would lower the input voltage to a lower constant output.
Any advice is appreciated :)
The first LD is pushing the daises from 6 feet under:p
I hope I 'll have better luck with the second one(as soon as I manage to find one)

Thank you

Attachments

• Driver_003_001.jpg
    Driver_003_001.jpg
    208.3 KB · Views: 1,723

Well the circuit looks good except for the Push Button switch...
It should NEVER be on the output of the driver.... you should put
it between the batteries and the input of the driver on the positive
power line... :cool:

If you have already used this setup... you will have blown every
LD that has been connected to it...  
The driver charges the capacitor to way over the LD rating... and