Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Complete noob with lasers, interested in purchasing

Matin

Hey, I am a complete noob when it comes to lasers. I see everyone making the lasers with parts they order online and such. I have no knowledge on what to do. I want to spend at max $200 for a laser, glasses, etc. Can anyone help me out?

Start reading..
http://laserpointerforums.com/
HyperPhysics
That should get you started.
Like anything you will need to learn. Start with SAFETY, light/optics/circuits (physics theory), and then get a small 5-50 mw diode. Build a small laser to learn the techniques, and then go and spend 200$ on a nice build.. You don't want to be an idiot who buys some big 2 W IR laser, and looks into the thing when it's on because you can't see the beam.

Matin

Start reading..
http://laserpointerforums.com/
HyperPhysics
That should get you started.
Like anything you will need to learn. Start with SAFETY, light/optics/circuits (physics theory), and then get a small 5-50 mw diode. Build a small laser to learn the techniques, and then go and spend 200$ on a nice build.. You don't want to be an idiot who buys some big 2 W IR laser, and looks into the thing when it's on because you can't see the beam.

Do you know any sites which offer all the parts for under $50? I want to learn how to do this. I know very little I know that the IR lasers you can't see them. Is there any glasses that you can recommend for me to purchase as well?

Matin

I want to assembly my own laser together. What will I need? All I know is a host, heatsink and a diode. What else would I need?
--
Edit I just figured out I need to solder and I never done any soldering. Can you guys recommend some pre-built lasers from anyone selling one here/sites?

Last edited: