Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

A little help for a noobie please

Hi there everyone,

I was looking for somewhere to find out about a green laser I just recieved from an online store,
and found your forum.

I am new to lasers etc, but was very intersted when seeing videos of handheld lasers showing visible beams.
I thought about getting one and did, I researched a bit and I came upon the conclusion that a 50mw 532nm Green Laser would have a clear visible beam. Mine isn't that clear, so I was wondering if the one Ive bought isn't powerful enough, or needs modifications etc. Could someone please give me some advice, thank you

Attachments

• P10101773.jpg
    P10101773.jpg
    163.5 KB · Views: 83

T

timelord

charlie said:
Hi there everyone,

I was looking for somewhere to find out about a green laser I just recieved from an online store,
and found your forum.

I am new to lasers etc, but was very intersted when seeing videos of handheld lasers showing visible beams.
I thought about getting one and did, I researched a bit and I came upon the conclusion that a 50mw 532nm Green Laser would have a clear visible beam. Mine isn't that clear, so I was wondering if the one Ive bought isn't powerful enough, or needs modifications etc. Could someone please give me some advice, thank you
Your beam should be very visible at night and you may see it a little bit in the daytime. With a true 50mw laser you'll be just in the threshold of popping balloons, you may if your lucky be able to burn things. I'd look at this laser and say it was made by Newish maybe, and is ok to get started with in this addictive hobby ;)

Welcome to the forum Charlie :)

Thanks for your reply timelord,

Can you tell me if I can mod this pointer or tweak it to get a birghter beam or burn things?

T

timelord