Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

where is the IR filter located on an S3 Krypton?

firstly, i would like to apologize for the length of this post. also, if it is in the wrong category then let me know. i feel like it doesn't necessarily belong in the green laser category because it is about wattage and the location of a component.
it has two questions- where is the IR filter located in the S3 Krypton, and how can i determine the wattage?

---------

i have recently bought a used WL S3 Krypton for $100 (i do not know what the wattage is, since the previous owner apparently removed the safety/information sticker)

i am very new to lasers, but from the little i understand, the IR filter on a powerful green laser is an extremely important safety feature. the S3 lasers have a removable and replaceable lens on the front, which can be replaced by other lenses which will make a line, a star pattern, diffuse the beam, etc. the default one is a plain glass lens. i believe this is likely just there to protect the innards from dust, moisture, etc. it is the part on the far left of this image and it has been removed from the host. another reason i suspect this is not the IR filter is that this part is present on all colors of the S3 lasers, and as far as i'm aware, green lasers are the only ones that need an IR filter.
3560_08.jpg

i originally thought this was the IR filter, but after looking at a diagram of a green laser, and some thought, it makes no sense that a component that important and safety critical would be exposed on the front of the unit. it would likely be inside of the module, protected and safe, or at least this would make sense. i imagine it would be like the setup below.
l54-101.gif