Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Use pwm led drive for DVD laser diode

gfucka

Hi,
I'm new in the laser world.
I'm doing a simple laser cutter cnc and now I have to choose the laser.
I ordered one but it not arrive for customs problems... so I decide to use an old DVD and it laser.
I have the attached led driver board with pwm control, it use the PT4115

do you think I can use it to drive the DVD laser?

Thank you so much

ledriver.png

Last edited:

DVD lasers are so cheap try it, but do you mean a Blu-Ray 405 nm diode? See if you can find the range of voltage this device is capable of outputting as well as the forward voltage and current the laser diode needs and compare.

gfucka

No I mean simple DVD laser diode. How can I find the laser diode information?

The single mode Blu-Ray laser diodes all have a fairly high forward voltage. Depending on the drive current you select it can be as high as 6 volts. But, these are very temperamental diodes and seem to last longer at lower currents......500 mA or less. If you want an engraver that will be turned on and off at high frequencies you would be better off with one of the higher power 445nm to 450nm diodes. But, the higher the power the worse the beam specs.

Also, you will need a better driver than the one you pictured. Try DTR's laser shop online. He sells the X-Woose drivers from Russia that also can be driven with a PWM, but at much higher currents.