Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

the max power a dvdrw diode can safely use?

im a noob here and since DX wont ship anything over 5mw to the US it looks like i have to make one. Now i want to power a 20x dvd burner diode with a 9volt battery. My brother is an electrical engineer so all he needs to know is how much power is safe to deliver to a dvdrw diode so he can build a circuit board accordingly. also, will i need a heatsink?

thanks

italianxmna89 said:
im a noob here and since DX wont ship anything over 5mw to the US it looks like i have to make one. Now i want to power a 20x dvd burner diode with a 9volt battery. My brother is an electrical engineer so all he needs to know is how much power is safe to deliver to a dvdrw diode so he can build a circuit board accordingly. also, will i need a heatsink?

thanks
I would just tell you to read the stickies, but I'm feeling nice today. Is it an open can? If it is, you could give it 420mA, with a really good heatsink. Is the diode in a module? It wont focus if it isn't. Jayrob makes excellent heatsinks, made for various MXDL flashlights. You should check them out. This flashlight is a pretty good host, and Jay makes a heatsink for it. http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.4171 9V batteries aren't very good for lasers; they're built for devices that run for a long time on low current, but you could if you want too. It wont be very pleasing to look at though, it would pretty much be built just so it works. (9V don't fit in flashlights well. ;)) You could probably ask Jay to custom make you a heatsink to fit around your module. It wont look nice, but it would work pretty well.

i have two of these..

dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.5914