Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Star Trek Phasers

purevw

I am still somewhat of a newbie here. Here are a couple of projects that I made. I call them my “red neck” phasers because my machine shop consists of a 1/2” VSR hand drill; a 12mm hand reamer; a homemade alignment jig made for “aiming” the module as the epoxy holding the module sink cures; and various files for shaping the heat sinks for fit. I'm sure there are more refined ways to accomplish this, but simple functionality was my primary concern. I'll add photos and a description of each unit.

Type I Phaser from Star Trek – The Next Generation:

I started with a Galoob toy phaser purchased from E-Bay and modified the body considerably (check photos). I made a hole in the “emitter” large enough for the beam.
The system uses a Mitsubishi 660nm diode and adjustable driver purchased from AixiZ as a kit. Part number: AIX-445-KND (the page states 650nm, but the spec sheet delivered with the diode states 660)
I set the driver at 300mW and attached it to a piece of copper strap that is attached to the body of the phaser. On the back side of that strap, I attached a couple of RAM heat sinks, using Arctic Silver adhesive. The RAM sinks actually reside in the battery compartment.
The diode was set into a 12mm AixiZ copper module and pressed into a sink made from 1-1/8” copper bar that I modified to fit within the limited space of the body. The heat sink was then attached to the body with an epoxy (J.B. Weld). I made an alignment jig from an AixiZ module that I bored out enough to install a long bolt into. With that jig, I was able to align the beam path fairly accurately by aligning the bolt and keeping it in position until the epoxy hardened.