Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Soldering Pins

laser_freak said:
One more tip (I'll update my previous post)...

Never, ever, EVER use silver solder... It SUCKS for soldering LDs... The solder doesn't seem to flow at all.

I beg to differ - I use silver solder exclusively, and have never had an issue with it. I have even used the off-brand from some stores other than Radio Shack - but I prefer the super thin stuff that Radio Shack carries. I would suggest cleaning your soldering iron tip - or maybe even getting a different one ? NOT being mean, or whatever someone will obviously categorize this post as - but I am by no means a professional solderer {Wow ! That IS a word ! } and I have no issues using silver solder. It costs around $5.00 or so from Radio shack, and is 1.5 ounces of solder (I think).

**edit**

I see that the iron you recommend is a 48 Watt iron... I use a 60Watt adjustable (no cool display, though :( )

JLSE

SenKat_Stonetek said:
[quote author=laser_freak link=1213151476/12#13 date=1213576093]One more tip (I'll update my previous post)...

Never, ever, EVER use silver solder...  It SUCKS for soldering LDs...  The solder doesn't seem to flow at all.

I beg to differ - I use silver solder exclusively, and have never had an issue with it.  I have even used the off-brand from some stores other than Radio Shack - but I prefer the super thin stuff that Radio Shack carries.  I would suggest cleaning your soldering iron tip - or maybe even getting a different one ?  NOT being mean, or whatever someone will obviously categorize this post as - but I am by no means a professional solderer {Wow !  That IS a word ! } and I have no issues using silver solder.  It costs around $5.00 or so from Radio shack, and is 1.5 ounces of solder (I think).[/quote]