Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Requesting help with a KES-400A build, please

Hello. OK, so, this is my first time making a laser, and I'm basically looking for some advice and someone to correct me if there is something seriously flawed in my plans. The diode I finally settled on is the one contained in the KES-400A, an assembly replacement for the PS3. I'm ordering it from hyratech.com/product.php?productid=6740&cat=0&page=1. I'm getting most of my information from repairfaq.org/sam/Blu-ray/site1/index.html. So, my plans are that once I get the diode, I will follow the instructions for retrieving the diode from the assembly. Then I'll hook it up to a driver, and then make a house for it after I am able to take some more exact dimensions. Then, with any luck, I'll turn it on and it will work!
However, I was wondering what kind of driving system would be needed, in Sam's FAQ it says that a 47 ohm resistor is sufficient, but should I start with a higher level and then work my way down to avoid putting in too low of a resistor and accidentally blowing the diode out? Also, there are three diodes in the can, so if I want to simplify my driver I can just not connect the red and green ones, right? Lastly, would the heat sink be sufficient in a confined space as opposed to the open space in the PS3? If not, what kind of heat sink would I need? I'm mostly concerned with the space that connecting the red and green would take up, plus the extra components on the driver to select which one I would want to have outputted.
Thanks for reading!

Ok first off i have NEVER dealt with BR laser but i believe i know enough to help you out.