Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Powering Driver With Very High Amp Battery..

BrilliantLasers

First off, forgive my ignorance, I am a newb. I've been scratching my head over an issue I am having. How do you limit very high current from say a 12v lead acid battery to protect a driver? I hooked up a driver that was rated for 36v and is supposed to regulate current, but the driver popped hooked to a 12v lead acid even though there was nothing even hooked up to the output. The driver worked fine with 2, 18650 lithiums in series though. Some things I've worked with in the past like 'inverters' don't give a damn what current is going into them.

So how do I go about limiting high current? I was under the impression most drivers are built to use only the current they need?

Hey @BrilliantLasers! Noob and newbie here too, but from the very little things i know is that current being drawned depends on the load... But i also think that most driver warn you to not connect to source without a load on them...

First off, forgive my ignorance, I am a newb. I've been scratching my head over an issue I am having. How do you limit very high current from say a 12v lead acid battery to protect a driver? I hooked up a driver that was rated for 36v and is supposed to regulate current, but the driver popped hooked to a 12v lead acid even though there was nothing even hooked up to the output. The driver worked fine with 2, 18650 lithiums in series though. Some things I've worked with in the past like 'inverters' don't give a damn what current is going into them.

So how do I go about limiting high current? I was under the impression most drivers are built to use only the current they need?

That's not how it works, I assume you were using one of those Chinese dc to dc buck/boots units ?