Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Possible Safety Measure to stop blindness

jhon57

So I'm a complete newbie to these forums and I just joined these because I'm building my first IR 300 mw 808nm laser(not yet started).
I thought that since I own a gear vr headset ,and my Samsung galaxy s7 edge could easily "see" infrared why not use the gear vr camera while working with the laser.
As far as I know no one has tried using VR as a laser safety measure so I hope someone with more experience (with lasers) can answer this.
Would this be better or worse than conventional goggles?
Is there any possible way I could go blind if I'm using a gear vr?
Can my laser damage my phone camera? If so could I use an IR filter on my cam to solve the issue?
Is it possible to use VR as a universal safety for any laser?

PS. I am aware of the conventional laser safety and I am going to purchase goggles if the above "hack" is not a good idea.

diachi

So I'm a complete newbie to these forums and I just joined these because I'm building my first IR 300 mw 808nm laser(not yet started).

I thought that since I own a gear vr headset ,and my Samsung galaxy s7 edge could easily "see" infrared why not use the gear vr camera while working with the laser.

Many of us have used webcams while wearing Goggles to both stay safe and visualize the beam. As long as the Gear VR doesn't allow any external light in I don't see a problem with that.

As far as I know no one has tried using VR as a laser safety measure so I hope someone with more experience (with lasers) can answer this.

Would this be better or worse than conventional goggles?

I haven't used VR, but I feel like I'd prefer the cheap webcam and laser goggles method that I've used before. I feel like that'd be easier to work with.