Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Noob safety questions & laser power

platinumlazing

Hello all, laser noob here. TL;DR - Is it possible to safely use a 405nm laser above 5mw (at least powerful enough to clearly see the beam in low light conditions) without eyewear? What is the mw limit if so? Any recommendations on handheld 405nm lasers under that power limit?

I'm interested in 405nm lasers, mainly for fluorescence, however I am disappointed that I cannot see the beam of my 5mw laser without heavy dust or mist in the air, even in the dark(extra lighting added from my phone camera).
1663740085978.png
Compare this to my 5mw green laser pointed at the same object in the same lighting conditions and the beam is clearly visible (the extra lighting from my phone makes it way brighter than real life but it's clearly visible).
1663740260105.png
I know that green light is more visible than violet light, my point is that I would like to own a purple laser powerful enough to produce a clear beam that is eye safe to use, ideally that looks at least as good as this (my violet laser while I blow dust in its path):
1663743214326.png