Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Noob here, asking for help

Dibbit

As the title says, im a noob here and need some help. Ive been reading up for almost a month because i want to learn to build my own laser. After searching and reading then more searching and reading, i feel like a kid by a pool with my floaties on and wanting to get in... i just cant find the steps to get in. is there anyone patient enough to help get me started in the right path? i understand the jist of the parts involve that i need, just get lost with what "type" of each part. Thanks in advance for any help.

Hey Dibbit, welcome to the forums!
I'm no expert myself, but I will go ahead saying what everyone else will tell you: don't forget goggles.

As for what "type" of part, give us some more details. Namely, what wavelength/colour do you want to build?

Knowing this, I can try to help a lot more.

Dibbit

deffinatly plan to get goggles, i enjoy my eye sight :D as far as wavelength/color, it doesnt really matter to me since this is just a learn process till i get the hang of it. so what ever is cheapest price wise since im sure i'll ruin a few parts and have to start over. From my understanding (correct me if im wrong) red or blue seem to be the cheapest/easiest... and of the two, i would preffer blue.

Check out the links in my sig, that'd help you out a bit and welcome to LPF :beer:

There's the bulk of it!
To quickly answer your question on what "type" of part though, if you use a blue or purple laser, you'll need more voltage. This means either a boost driver, or more batteries in series and a linear driver. Hosts like the guidesman are good for this since they come with a 3xAAA adapter.