Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser idea...

I am a ranch manager of a fairly high end show horse ranch and we have an issue with a number of varmints, primarily rabbits and gophers destroying things and such. Shooting a gun (IE a 22 cal) is not all that good of an idea around this place due to the report of the weapon spooking some of the horses. ((This is rather silly when you consider I have horses of my own I can shoot off of, but customers pamper their show horses)). At any rate, I had the idea of possibly having a small laser type of weapon that could reach out to say...100-150 feet to possibly "end" the varmints life with a simple head shot. No sound or anything, just a nice quiet beam of light and no more pest. I am not familiar with this at all, not familiar with the needed power, estimated costs, hurdles I would have to jump to construct such a thing, nor if this is even legal. If it does have legality issues, please tell me as such and I will drop this idea immediatly, and I certainly mean no harm. I ask all of this in complete ernest, and ignorance of this topic. Can anyone please give me some answers to this idea as such please? I am aware i would need a small scope /targeting laser that would be harmless to aim with, and then turn on the "business part" of this idea. Please forgive my ignorance.

Well......i'm sure it's possible, but the amount of power you would need to simply kill it with a quick beamshot would be the kind only found on military humvees and the boeing airplane laser. which cost outrageous amounts.

I'm sure you could create a portable system that would blind the animal.....but this wouldn't be very effective, and you'd probably catch a lot of hell if the right people found out....