Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser diode stores?

ImStillCaden

Hey! I'm new to laser pointers and I'm planning on building my first burning laser. Where would be the best place to find a diode and driver? I don't think Ebay will be the best place to find a laser diode that is advertised correctly. What website(s) should I go to find a diode and driver (200 mw+)? Thanks in advance!

EBay is actually the cheapest place to find a diode once you know what you are looking for. There are some places that have good drivers there too, but you have to know what you are looking for. X-Woose is a good place for drivers and Techhood, Newgazer, Existotem and Laserland are good sites for diodes. Many people here buy their diodes and drivers from DTR who is a member here and has a site where you can get the diode and driver put together in a module and ready to drop into a host. His site is: https://sites.google.com/site/dtrlpf/home.

Last edited:

GSS

Yes, DTR by far as every diode is new and he's a wealth of info with showing every diode's power potential, limit's, spot spec's comparison's and building links. It's like a forum in a sales sight:)
Later on after experience you can try to find so called hopefully new extracted diodes on ebay sources but the knowledge in researching them for purchase will have come from DTR;)

Encap

DTR's site is the place to go/buy from for a first hand held laser build.
His expertly done new diode , driver, module and lens assemblies eliminate several pitfalls of doing yourself.

CurtisOliver

LPF Site Supporter
As the others have already suggested you can't go wrong with DTR.