Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Laser amplification

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to lasers but I love playing with new things. I recently came across a shop that was offering Erbium laser rods for a pretty decent price, and I was wondering what kind of amplification power something like this would give?

I love tinkering, and I was curious specifically about the power of the laser it could produce with 15 focused 350 mW IR laser diodes. Is the additional power per cost efficiency a worthwhile investment?

Thanks!
Chris

Last edited:

diachi

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to lasers but I love playing with new things. I recently came across a shop that was offering Erbium laser rods for a pretty decent price, and I was wondering what kind of amplification power something like this would give?

I love tinkering, and I was curious specifically about the power of the laser it could produce with 15 focused 350 mW IR laser diodes. Is the additional power per cost efficiency a worthwhile investment?

Thanks!
Chris

It won't give any amplification power.

You're not going to have an output any greater than your input, so 15*0.35=5.25W input to get <5.25W (significantly less in practice) output at a different wavelength. You would also need optics to collimate or focus both the pump beams and the output beams as well as mirrors to form a resonator. Not to mention designing/buying/building the mounting hardware.

An example of the efficiency you can expect - ~120W at 808nm side pumping a 3mmx65mm 0.6% doped Nd:YAG rod would yield maybe ~50W at 1064nm. That's 42% optical efficiency - electrical efficiency is even worse at around 14-15%. I'm not sure how efficient Er doped rods are, but it'll be around those figures.