Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Is my diode dead?

JFrost

I'll be the first to admit I am a total laser noob and forum noob. Today while assembling my first laser (lpc-815) using a 5mm tact switch that has 4 contacts, 2 on the right and 2 on the left. I made the rookie mistake of soldering it incorrectly which effective made the circuit constant on. I then went to solder my diode to the board. I noticed the diode powered up when I made contact and thought oh s*!t. I pulled the battery and finished soldering but now all I get out of my moduel is a dim red light.... :cryyy:

Is it ruined?

mfo

I'll be the first to admit I am a total laser noob and forum noob. Today while assembling my first laser (lpc-815) using a 5mm tact switch that has 4 contacts, 2 on the right and 2 on the left. I made the rookie mistake of soldering it incorrectly which effective made the circuit constant on. I then went to solder my diode to the board. I noticed the diode powered up when I made contact and thought oh s*!t. I pulled the battery and finished soldering but now all I get out of my moduel is a dim red light.... :cryyy:

Is it ruined?

Yup, it's now an LED. Sorry for the loss, but don't worry. I initially killed 5 PHR's when I was learning to solder the diodes to the drivers :p

JFrost

Bummer.... Oh well, chalk it up to a learning experience...
(just ordered two more lpc-185's) What actually happens to the diode to cause the "led effect" ?

mfo

Bummer.... Oh well, chalk it up to a learning experience...
(just ordered two more lpc-185's) What actually happens to the diode to cause the "led effect" ?

True. Be grateful it was one diode and not five :p