Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help with safety Glasses OD7 532nm 5mW

Hello,
I am new to this laser forum and wanted to ask a couple question to someone with experience working with laser safety shields/goggles.

To start, I will provide information about the laser I am using. I am using a 532nm 5mW green laser that is fitted into a SIRT laser training pistol. I use the SIRT pistol for dry fire practice on cardboard scale targets in my apartment at an average distance of 3 yards. The green laser hits on cardboard targets are read by a computer software called L.A.S.R to give feedback on shot time and accuracy.

I purchased a pair of NOIR ARG OD7 for 532nm safety glasses for two purposes. The first, is I am concerned about repeated exposure at close distances to diffuse reflection from my green laser causing eye damage. I am purposely not blinking to maintain a good sight picture of my SIRT pistol sights. So safety is my main priority.

The second reason I purchased these glasses is the high optical density would prevent me from seeing the laser dot emitted from the SIRT pistol on my targets because the glasses should block the reflected green laser radiation. The advantage to not being able to see the laser impact because of the glasses is that I have to totally rely on my pistol's sight picture, the way one does with a real pistol. Seeing the green dot on a target can allow a person to visually walk their shots onto target, or become target focused which is bad in competitive shooting sports.
[URL=http://s53.photobucket.com/user/bauman32/media/IMG_2294.jpg.html][/URL]

My issue with the glasses are that I can still see a white dot image of the laser off a target through the glasses.
Ex) view looking through at laser hit