Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Help with lasers

Hello, I am new to the world of lasers and don't know much about building them yet. I want to obtain or build a burning laser for $50 or less, and I would like the highest mW for the lowest price. I am not particular about color, but I figured that red lasers tend to be the cheapest and simplest, so I posted here.

As I am only a beginner, I would not like to buy too many parts that require careful and precise analysis and fitting. As I said, I am also fine with buying a pre-assembled laser for a decent price from a reputable source. I would prefer a high milliwattage if possible; at least 100 mW, higher is better. I would not like to order from Dealextreme due to the warnings on the site.

Also, I would need to know what kind of safety measures f(such as goggles) I would need to obtain to work with a laser like this.

If anybody can help me, please reply.

Thanks,
Mark

What is a heatsink and how do I set it to 275 mA? Also, what does a FlexDrive do and why do I need it? Will I need to obtain an Aixiz module?

-Mark

jayrob

There are a few tutorials for different hosts. You will first want to take some time and read some of them:
http://www.laserpointerforums.com/forums/YaBB.pl?num=1190456606

You will need to decide which host you like best, the battery supply will determine your driver choices.

The FlexDrive is an excellent driver, but you will need to learn about how to properly set the current:
http://www.laserpointerforums.com/forums/YaBB.pl?num=1197651171#1

It's a little confusing at first, so don't get into too much of a hurry. Take the time to do the reading.

Yes, you will need:

Host
Driver
AixiZ module
LD

Heatsink for high power.

Here's another tutorial, DDL shows how to set up a washer style heatsink: