Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello from hey101

hey101

Hello everyone, my actual name is Mark but my username is hey101. I am definitely new here, but I am still new to lasers other than going to EDM music festivals and shows and admiring the work people have put into them. I am a small time DJ who is also very good with computers and I am fluent with several programming languages. I have a limited knowledge of small electronics with arduinos, but I have managed to use it and a raspberry pi to make a voice activated home automation system for my room. I currently attend college and I am studying Computer Engineering Technology.

One of my main projects is working with making my own custom light show for when I DJ at small parties like some frat parties at GA Tech. I currently have 2 UV Led boards that I made for covering a decent area with UV light. I also make 2 RGB Led strobe lights that I use for strobes or ambient lighting in my music sets. I plan to make two more. My goal is to eventually make a full color laser machine for doing awesome aerials to add to my set.

I currently took on a new idea for djing and lighting which is to pre-make 3-10 different light shows for each song I play with. Then I output the current song name and position of the actively playing songs and send it to my raspberry pi which processes that and then sends commands to my arduino via serial that control the lights. Each of my light shows then go perfectly in-sync with the music and it is different each time.
It was just a small project that has now turned into a big one as everything for my light show has been home made so far.

Anyhow, I am glad to now be a member of this website and hopefully I can contribute some of my limited knowledge to help someone out. :)

pretty good intro-:p