Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Green Laser Purchase Qs

Koroso

I'm new to lasers, but would really like one. I'm considering for my first one a 5-15mw power one. I definitely want it to be safe and have an ir filter. I really want the beam to be visible at night. I've considered the lyra and even the core and executive lasers at wicked lasers. What lasers at this power range do you recommend? Anyone below $100 is satisfactory. Do I need to worry  about buying glasses if I purchase above 5mw? Bottom line: I want to own a very safe, and very bright laser between 5-15mw that has an ir filter for under $100. Please offer your professional opinion

sb__iq

5 mW is pretty safe. I recommend Optotronics.

Stay the HELL away from FocalPrice and DealExtreme!

Koroso

Is the beam very visible in darkness? I might want to upgrade to 10 or 15mw..

sb__iq said:
5 mW is pretty safe. I recommend Optotronics.

Stay the HELL away from FocalPrice and DealExtreme!
Whats wrong with FP & DX?

If you cant wait shop there; http://[b]o-like.com[/b]/b2b_cplist.asp?catid=447

Grab that one,http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.91
It will take a couple weeks months but it will get there.

The beam should be visible at night, but if you live in a city, get a 30mW.

Too bad you missed the 5mW CNI Pen deal, there should be more of these deal avaible soon, 5mw Cni or Leadlight or Wicked Core.

-Greg

Koroso

what would be the advantage of getting a Lyra or Core? Are they brighter than the same output models on cheaper sites? Any suggestions for 10-15mw models? Thanks

The Lyra models are good because they have a guaranteed constant output; cheaper lasers will fluctuate in power and are often much more powerful than advertised. Lyras will also last longer.