Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First Laser - trying to stay safe

Decypher555

Hello! I’m new to this forum, and I’m happy to be here.

This is my first time owning a laser, and I just want to make sure that I’m doing everything correctly and safely as I go deeper into this hobby. I plan on building some lasers eventually, but I recently purchased one from a seller on here known as tinkertavern and am currently waiting for delivery.

I’m not sure where to begin with this, so I’ll start with my experiences with lasers.

It’s my 22nd birthday today, and I recently got to experience a laser show when I was dragged to an EDM event with my younger brother. The producer’s name was Excision, and I was blown away by the production and the number of lasers that were coded to his music. Truly a spectacle, I’ve never seen colors so vibrant. I was very weary because I didn’t know how they would have class 4 lasers like that in an enclosed environment without blinding everyone, but I was convinced that it was harmless and that the LSOs took proper precautions for everyone’s safety.

When I was 20, I had an internship at an engineering place producing parts for the hinge of the falcon door of the model X Tesla. (and other stuff) I was good at my job, however my tasks were kind of remedial and the building itself was a very unhealthy environment to be working in. I had no previous knowledge or experience of lasers before this and was eager to learn about the welding process that they were trying to tune because the parts were consistently out of tolerance. (they switched to a chemical process)

During my time, I volunteered to be taught to weld by a worker and was pretty good at it right away. Unfortunately, things kind of took a turn, and I was welding for a little while every day.