Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

easiest route to analogue control of ttl rgb laser.

robinlawrie

apologies if this has been covered, ive had a browse but not found much beyond "its better to get an analog version in the first place"

ive got a (very) cheap 500mw rgb projector, and the 7 color limit is a bit annoying having seen the effect analog control gives. i would also like to improve the alignment of the module which would be easier with dimmed output.

im a bit of a total noob wrt laser drivers so please be gentle :)

so my options seem to be

a) modify existing drivers to provide analog modulation.. this seems to be "not recommended"/more complex than im imagining from what i have read.

as far as i can see, given there are pots on the driver to tweak output for the 3 diodes, this sets an upper current limit. some kind of modification here could retain that limit but enable a transistor/mosfet in series (or parallel, depending if i need to increase or decrease resistance) to vary the output..

happy tobe educated as to why this wont work

b) add some kind of post-driver circuit.. maybe using a mosfet to variably "short" the diode through a sufficiently meaty resistor. this would keep the driver applying the correct current, but allow what arrives at the diode to be varied.

c) replace the driver board.. i could measure the current/voltage provided to each diode and set a new driver to match for each one.. something like the optlasers analogue modulated one looks good, but the price seems very high for such a simple weeny circuit, considering id need 3 of them... im sure they are quality kit and maybe made locally, which is to be respected, but in my case, it would cost more than the whole setup currently does.