Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Can anybody build me a 15mw 635nm pointer?

ktroy

Looking for a 635nm single mode (nice round dot) pointer around 10-15mw. I am reading that the diodes are available but I have no knowledge to build it into a laser pointer myself. Would anybody care to enlighten me on the work involved to create such a pointer, and how much they would like to get in compensation for the work?

It doesn't have to be single mode, that would just be a bonus. Thanks!

Blord

I have a Sanyo 40mW 635nm diode. It has a very nice round dot. The laser can be set at 15mW without problem.

Just out of curiosity, why 15mW's?

I see that you are a new member, do you have laser safety glasses?
Would this be your first laser?

If this is your first laser over 5mW +1 Rep for not jumping straight to a 1W+ laser :wave:

It's far too common for a newbies first post to be "WTB a 1Watt Laser" :twak:

kudos to you for taking baby steps.

Last edited:

ktroy

Thanks Polonium!

I've been using laser pointers for 10 years or so now, but most all at 5mw. Started with Atlasnova red 635, then onto a leadlight 5mw 532, then an el cheapo amazon 405 bluray at unknown mw, I'm scared most of the bluray, cause I have no way to measure the power or IR, plus it's brighter than my 635 by a small margin.. so I am guessing it's around 10-15mw.

I have zero interest in anything over 15mw... I respect the power of these lasers and don't want any part of that kind of power for someone to pick up and "misuse".

Blord, I'm interested in your diode. :) How much work is it to use that in a pointer at 15mw?

Thanks Polonium!