Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

buying a laser / need help?!? \

hello i'm new to lasers, i like them very much. when i was a litle kid i was used to walk around and use the litle nub 5mW red lasers but that really is worthless...
i was wandering now that i have watched some youtube vids about modding a 5mW laser or a flashlight with a dvd burner led, i have a laptop that is totally worthless so maybe i can use the diode from the burner to create a laser from the typical Minimag flash lights. but as i said i am new to lasers and i don't know anything about elcectric things and wiring and optics i don't know if I will be able to do that.
what should i do if i want for example a green laser ( the most visible ones i guess) or another one with about 100-150mW so it can cut/burn stuff etc...
if anyone can help me with this i'd be soooo pleased. i don't know anything about the dvd diode yet because atm i'm not at home (where my broken laptop is).
would it be better to buy a new, high quality laser from the web? and let it ship to my home (living in Belgium -> Europe) (as i don't know if this is an american forum or not, i think so :D)
if the answer is yes, what website would provide me of a good laser? i won't say high quality and cheap because that isn't a possible combination.
thank you for taking time to read this... (sorry for spelling mistakes and such...)

i guess I gotta be a dumbass shining in my (or other ppls) eyes with it!
thx for the fast response...
btw i was lookiing and surfing on a site of Dragonlasers, but that's kinda high price
so this ppl's site is kinda rip off? or xtra gud quality?!
few more questions will follow of course ( i want to learn stuff about these)
the ...nm (... is number) for example 660nm or 808nm or all these things, what do these stand for?