Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Blu-Ray

Ok, so I'm just beginning (sorta) this whole dabble with lasers, and I'm confused how to get a Blu-Ray laser diode to work portably. I bought a PS3 carriage online and it just came today and I've extracted the only thing in it that resembles a laser diode. (side number: 615144 060024 if that helps). Do all Blu-Ray laser diodes from PS3 sleds have the same requirements to power them? And on the same note, what should be my schematics consist of? I have an understanding of resistors, potentiometers, capacitors, diodes (not so much laser diodes though), switches, soldering and testing using a multimeter (though my skills with it could be greatly improved on). The diode I have also has 5 pins. Which is confusing. Any help regarding schematics and the specs of the laser diode itself would be greatly appreciated. I've been searching through the forum and it's a bit confusing.

the other pins are for things like the DVD and CD diodes, as well as maybe a photodiode. check the stickies and use the search button, there are MANY threads of people asking the same question ;)

and of course, welcome to the forum :D

LarryQ said:
Starting out with a Blu-Ray is pretty Gutsy!!!!

I Like Gutsy!!!

Good Luck..and watch that Static!!!

LarryQ

thanks. the site clarified alot. (I had originally posted a longer reply but the forum wouldn't let me post it because I wasn't allowed to post links).
More questions: