Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

Buy Site Supporter Role (remove some ads) | LPF Donations

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery | Browser Hide by Avery

Anyone Seen This Laser? Need Info Please?!?!

Hello,
I am relatively new to lasers, (and new to this site) though I have a small background in electronics, (some 25 years ago) so I understand the basics. You guys seem to know alot of these lasers floating around, so have look at this one. It was purchased from Hong Kong for a total of 200 US. It is suppose to be a 200mw, and it has the 3.6 cr-123 re-charge. I love the build and feel of the barrel, but when lit up, it is only half as bright as another 200mw I have that is basically a P.O.S. as well. (I have no LPM) This new one will light a black match if done within the first few seconds, (But all IR, when filtering, it won't light sh#!) then it dies out to half power/brightness and shortly after that (10-15 seconds) it will split into 2-3-4 beams. A cooling off period only nets a few seconds again before it starts to split and dim. I looked down into the Diode and the lens appears to cut/cracked? Is this a normal process for these cheap lasers? Is this a P.O.S.??? Is this worth keeping and trying to fix somehow? Any help and direction would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Regards.

Attachments

• laser_200mw_recharge_diode_pic_001.jpg
    laser_200mw_recharge_diode_pic_001.jpg
    124.7 KB · Views: 82

Pic 2 of 3.

Attachments

• laser_200mw_recharge_diode_pic_002.jpg
    laser_200mw_recharge_diode_pic_002.jpg
    136.3 KB · Views: 76
Let's try that again, Pic 3 of 3.

Attachments

• laser_200mw_recharge_diode_pic_003.jpg
    laser_200mw_recharge_diode_pic_003.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 72