Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Anyone recognize this? I can't find part #'s

Hello there,

I am new to lasers, but not to electrical engineering specifications. I just took apart this huge HP DraftMaster II poster pen plotter printer and found this little guy that came out of it. I think it's a laser, but I probably burned it out when I tried to test it!

Here's the pics:

cd0536a6e1_ga.jpg

482c2c7c18_ga.jpg

eaf764f291_ga.jpg

Anybody recognize this? Is it a laser driver and broken laser diode?

HIMNL9

I'm not sure from the pics, a macro of the "diode" can be helpful ..... anyway .....

As far as i can see, the small square up can be a phototransistor or a photodiode (or at least, it looks similar to them) ..... where instead the chip on the low place can be anything, from the pic is not clear ,,,,, but don't look, apparently, as a laser chip, it looks more as a LED chip .....

Just a personal impression, as i said ..... but this can be an alignment photodetector, or something similar ..... i mean, a can with both an emitter and a detector in the same package, (and, maybe, a lens on the top, originally ?), that is used for detect "presence" or "distance" of an object, for align a moving part to a precise position ..... just wondering .....

There was another "alignment" looking module attached on the right hand side of the final circuitry image that I ripped off.

I couldn't figure out if the lenses attached to the inside these "modules" were part of LED -or- Laser Modules, though.