Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

any pilots

caleb

anyone here a pilot, either commercial or private.
please explain your hobby or career, aircraft endorsments etc.
im currently a student pilot and will be going solo very soon! sweet!!

I'm not a pilot, but my dad was a pilot and flight instructor at SIU. He flew for a while, but the pilot's wages plummeted when he was in school and after some years of flying he didn't like always being away from his wife and new family (plus the hours were terrible, plus he didn't like the bad thunderstorms, he almost got killed in one...) so he quit flying.

Ace82

I am an RC helicopter pilot... which to my understanding is more difficult then flying a real helicopter, since the smaller size makes it much more unstable, plus being on the outside controls are constantly inverting. I would absolutely love to be a real helicopter pilot, and I'm sure I would catch on real quick because I totally understand how they operate since I also build the RC models. And I’m not talking about the cheapies, I’m talking the real deal. Mine is worth over $3,000! I have a few years experience flying rc helicopters, but classes for certification to fly a real one is very expensive. :(

On the subject of flying RC helis, I love taking it out in high wind! In my neighborhood we have extremely windy seasons, sometimes over 100mph! Yeah, fences, trees, trash cans, etc. blow down. It’s like surfing, just trying to hover and fight the wind is so exciting! Lol!