Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Adapt 5.6mm diode to 9mm module?

synapsomorphy

Hi! I'm totally new to lasers and trying to do my first build with a PLTB450B. I accidentally bought a 9mm module though and I'm wondering if there's any easy way to adapt the size for it, like some little spacer piece I can buy or 3d print, or if I should just get a 5.6mm module. Thanks!

I've actually tried 3D printing adapters and it kind of worked. However, even diodes of much lower power than the PLTB450B diodes burn up rather quickly because the heat can't be absorbed by the plastic. My reason for trying this was to isolate a case positive diode from the host for polarity issues but it ended up being a lost cause. I have 5.6mm modules for sale if you need them.

synapsomorphy

I've actually tried 3D printing adapters and it kind of worked. However, even diodes of much lower power than the PLTB450B diodes burn up rather quickly because the heat can't be absorbed by the plastic. My reason for trying this was to isolate a case positive diode from the host for polarity issues but it ended up being a lost cause. I have 5.6mm modules for sale if you need them.
I don't see a listing for a 12mm outer / 5.6mm inner module on your ebay, could you link it?

For short usage, could try printing with some fancier filaments that can get hotter, but I think the low heat transfer rate is going to stay no matter what plastic you're using, so it's probably not worth looking much into.

Giannis_TDM

I don't see a listing for a 12mm outer / 5.6mm inner module on your ebay, could you link it?