Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

A driver without any power...

[TOPIC EDIT]
Scroll down to read the Actual Situtation​
Hy!

I am Quentin (I'm french, sorry for my english) and I'm not an expert in electronic... I need to create a laser (if it can burn, it will be nice) with a laser diode of a DVD burner. I made a driver to supply a laser diode from a DVD/CD RW Burner.
(Sony NEC Optiarc AD-5200A - Lecteur de disque - DVD±RW (±R DL) - 20x/20x - IDE - interne - 5.25" - noir Sony)

There is the schematic of the driver :

614540Schma.png

(I follow this tutorial to make my laser : here)

But unfortunatly, the power of the laser is very low... I can't see any light in the dark, I just can see a little glow at the output of the laser diode...

I think it's the potentiometer which is the problem, because when I raise the potentiometer, the intensity of the little glow don't move...

The is a pic of my montage (Like I said, I am not very good in electronic...) :

809248DSC0023.jpg

I really need to MAKE this laser driver, it's important for me, it's for an exam^^ (not in electronic obviously, but it's just an extra for my oral)

If my work at this time is wrong for what i need, feel free to redirect me to another schematic!

Thank you in advance :)

Quentin

Last edited:

The symbol of the LM317 doesn't directly translate to the physical LM317 ,

Looking at how you have it , you are trying to put power into the Adjust pin .

On the LM317 ( pins pointing down , front of the LM317 facing you ) from left to right it is - Adjust , V Out , V In

Last edited:
The symbol of the LM317 doesn't directly translate to the physical LM317 ,

Looking at how you have it , you are trying to put power into the Adjust pin .