Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

">5 mW" Burner

Just wanted to get peoples' opinions on this, since I have little experience with greens (and lasers I didn't build myself). I bought a supposedly 5 mW green laser off eBay for about $12. Recently, just for the hell of it, I broke off its metal cap and realized I could adjust the lens nut with a screwdriver. So I focused it to about 8" from the aperture, and discovered, to my delight and slight alarm, that it would ignite flash paper in seconds and smoke black stuff.

This has got to be way over-spec, right? From what I understand, the IR pumping diode has to be fairly powerful..could this thing just lack an adequate IR filter?

Sometimes it's just because the leaking IR from the laser cause the burning. But in this case if the laser is not too weak focus the beam is the good way to concentrate the energy. My 50mwlaser can smoke black paper and cut the tape without focusing the beam so it's not unusual that 5mw laser can do this with focus the beam.

well i think it's just a matter of the focusing ability. i mean if you look at it this way.

a 50mw with a 2mm dot and then a 5mw with a .5mm dot. i'm pretty sure a focused dot is smaller than .5mm, but let's just use that as a easily obtainable example.

a 2mm dot as compared to a .5mm dot, the 2mm dot has 4 times the diameter. in geometry it has 16times the area. that means the amount of energy per area for the .5mm dot is greater. if u made 16 .5 mm dots fit into that one 2mm dot you'd have 80mw of power. so you can see that when focused, the burning power is greatly improved.