Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Worried need answers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Edd123

Hello this is my first time posting and i am a bit paranoid if i have or going to have eye damage fron a laser.

Ok so i was playing video games with a friend and he raged and randomly shined his laser into the tv. Some of the light reflected into my eye and i am worried now.
It was some chinese laser pointer but here are the specs :
max output <8000 mw
Wavelenght 532 =+- 10
Class 3 laser
Ok so i dont know what that means or if they are really dangerous. I feel fine and i see just fine but i am worried if i might lose some vision in the future because of this incident.

Should i go to the doctor or am i just overreacting please any answers would be appreciated.

Edd123

How much did his laser cost (yes this is a relavent question)
Hey! Thanks for responding. I never asked him but the laser seemed to be high quality made from metal.it was chinese though.I forgot to add in my post that the laser was green.

Your probably fine, but if you want to be safe see an eye doctor. And don't forget to throw your friends laser in the garbage because nothing good will come of it.

Lagomorpha

I can tell you now, that 522nm laser is NOWHERE near 8000 mW but if you feel like there are any problems and/or your vision gets worse, see a doctor immediately. You are probably fine, but it's better safe than sorry.
Simply an irresponsible move.

Edd123

I can tell you now, that 522nm laser is NOWHERE near 8000 mW but if you feel like there are any problems and/or your vision gets worse, see a doctor immediately. You are probably fine, but it's better safe than sorry.
Simply an irresponsible move.